Tuesday, December 15, 2015

Memorial Reserves in the City of Playford

I drive past the Jesse Taylor Memorial Reserve on Peachey Road, Munno Para at least once a month.  Every time I see the sign I wonder who was Jesse Taylor, and think to myself, I must find out who she is.  Of course by the time I get back to work I  forget until the following month when I drive past the sign.  It wasn't until two residents came into the Library to ask the same question that I did actually look into it, and other Memorial Reserves in the City of Playford.

Horrie Knight Reserve
Balmoral Circuit and Cherrytree Cres, Blakeview
Horace (Horrie) Raymond Knight was a resident of One Tree Hill, he was involved with the Munno Para Rotary Club and Elizabeth and Districts foundation.  He was actively involved with Rotary and was instrumental in setting up the Elizabeth foundation, whose aim was to raise funds for all charitable causes in Elizabeth and Munno Para areas.  As a prominent local business man he helped local youth find employment. Horrie was well known for giving financial and physical support to individuals and groups in the area.

Elizabeth Rotary President 1974.  Winner of Paul Harris Fellowship in 1979.
Citizen of the Year in 1976.

He was awarded at OAM in 1990 for his services to charitable organisations.
Elizabeth & District Foundation set up a memorial award to honour Horrie, who was a founding member and longest serving member.
Died of cancer on June 6th, 1990 (age 74).  Wife Laurel.

Anne Wright Reserve 
Laverton Street, Dowlish St, Stocklinch Cres (Orginially named Stocklinch Reserce after Stocklinch in Wiltshire and Dorset, Davoren Park.
Born 1942 – 2000 (58 years)

Over ten years service on the management committees of Davoren Community Centre, Elizabeth and Munno Para Together Against Crime, Munno Para City Festival, Northern Plains Garden Club, West Action Group, Self-help garden project, SAHT Tennant Management Committee, Smithfield Plains School Council, Australia Day Committee and Stebonheath Park Committee.  She was Co-ordinator of Safety Houses of the Northern Plains.  Co-coordinator Second Hand Rose opportunity shop at Elizabeth West.  She was a Justice of the Peace.
Munno Para Citizen of the Year in 1995.  Anne and husband Gerald were the first prize winners of the 1993 Housing Trust Tenants Garden Competition for best garden in Elizabeth West.

She was a friend to many, known to help locals with any issue, described as ‘matriach of the area’ (Ann Brown NACYS Team leader)
Jessie Taylor Reserve

Outspoken anti-crime activist, passed away aged 73 in 1993.  She was a founding member of the Northern Area Activist Group and was instrumental in the campaign against a proposed needle exchange program.   She was well known for her beliefs in curbing crime, increasing police presence and upgrading the Lyell McEwin Hospital.  She spoke to the Premier to discuss northern issues and news streets for the Virginia market garden area.  In 1991 she was named Munno Para Council’s Australia Day Citizen of the Year. 
Survived by five children.  Husband Walter.

Harold Wissell Reserve    Smithfield
Harold George Wissell, Councillor of Munno Para 1985 – 1989 (Plains Central Ward), Deputy Mayor 1987 – 1989.  Council representative on Smithfield Plains Primary School Council, Munno Para Health Service, Nuclear Free Zones, Administration Community Services, Sub committee of Senior Citizens, Community Development.  Member of the Safety House scheme.  

Pete Smith Reserve     Davoren Park
Elizabeth Police Officer died 1986.  Served in Elizabeth for 18 years as a patrol officer and worked at the Elizabeth Police Station.

Brian Coward Reserve Blakeview
Councillor District Council of Munno Para 1981 – 1993. Council Representative on the Munno Para Community Development Board, Elizabeth & Districts Foundation, Neighbourhood Watch.   Council representative on Smithfield Memorial Park Authority (Chairman), Para Districts CFS, Para Districts Bushfire Prevention Committee, Craigmore Munno Para management committee.  Founder member and Life member of North Downs Residents Association Inc.

Jo Gapper Park     Hillbank

Councillor, District Council of MP 1980 – 1995 (Blair Park Ward).  Munno Para’s first elected Mayor from 1985 – 1995.  Council representative on Craigmore Y; Craigmore High School; Royal District Nursing Society; Elizabeth West Neighbourhood Centre, Elizabeth & District Foundation.  Chairman Munno Para CFS; Hon Sec Munno Para Greening Committee.  Chairman Para Districts Justices group. Secretary Women’s Local Government Association.
Resided at Hillbank.

Don Hardy Reserve     Davoren Park
Lived in Elizabeth West. Founding member of the Munno Para Youth Club. Involved in community development board and the Munno Para City Festival . Married with four children. Ran own business in Davoren Park, Hardy Motors.

No comments:

Post a Comment