Monday, November 2, 2015

The Vectormen

The Vectormen

Formed in Adelaide, South Australia in 1960, when they played at local dances such as the Matelot Club.  The group consisted of Pete Burrowes, Frank Tarney, Bob Harris & Derek 'Digs' Whitwell. Frank's younger brother Alan Tarney was to later join the band on bass.
The group broke up when Pete Borrows and drummer ‘Digs’ Whitwell left the band.  Although disbanding in 1964.

Mainly playing in Adelaide clubs and backing a vocal trio named "The Twilights".
Alan Tarney went on to become a part of the duo "Tarney and Spencer" with Trevor Spencer in England and would later record & tour with "The Shadows".
He eventually became known as a composer/producer for many but mainly for Cliff Richard with songs such as "We Don't Talk Anymore" and many more.

Members included
David Reekes-Parsons - Vocals
Kevin ‘Wilf ' Steele – Vocals, formerly with the Hurricanes acclaimed as SA top guitarist.
Alan Tarney - Keyboards, Bass Guitar
Frank Tarney - Rhythm Guitar lives in Elizabeth Grove and by day a draughtsman with British Tube Mills.
Bob Harris - Bass Guitar
Peter Burrows - Guitar
Derek "Digs" Whitwell - Drums

1 comment:

  1. Yes it was a great time in the 60s, I was 13 at the time and used to see the Vectormen at Dauntsey Road cricket club, it was a bit like Cliff Richards 'The Young Ones' at their club house. Thanks for the pictures, brought back memories. Regards Ken Morgan