Thursday, November 28, 2013

Elizabeth Marching Girls

Elizabeth Marching Girls
The sport was introduced into Australia in 1946 by a resident of Tamworth New South Wales.  Teams soon sprang up in many towns in others NSW and Newcastle.  The sport spread to Western Australia in 1952, Tasmania in 1956, South Australia 1957.  The first team in SA was known as the ‘Scarlet Leprechauns', formed in Penola.  In 1962 there were 200 teams in the state.
The first marching teams were formed in Elizabeth in October 1958, when the Elizabeth sub-branch of the Returned Soldiers League sponsored the formation of two teams. From this beginning the RSL Elizabethan Marching Girls Club consisted of five teams, known as the ‘Raleigh’s’ (Seniors), ‘Cavaliers’ and Windsor’s (Junior) and ‘Brigadiers and ‘Grenadiers’ (Midgets). 

The chairman of the RSL Elizabethans in 1962 was Mr A. Hemley.
A team consists of an Instructor, Chaperone and up to 14 girls including reserves, but only 9 girls and a leader take part in the competition for displays.  Team decisions are made only by the vote of all team members. 

Teams from Elizabeth have travelled to Melbourne, Mt Gambier, Pt Pirie, Renmark and Barmera to compete and give displays.  Team contests were held during the Elizabeth Birthday celebrations  as part of the North Metropolitan Zone of the South Australian Marching Girls Association , held on Ridley Road, Reserve, Elizabeth.

No comments:

Post a Comment